Upcoming Event: Free Comic Book Day 2016

It’s almost my favorite day of the year… FREE COMIC BOOK DAY is Saturday, May 7!

The reason I dig this holiday so much is because it brings comic lovers together all over the U.S. to celebrate the medium. Don’t get me wrong, conventions are a ton of fun, but with so many celebrities, T-shirt vendors, cosplayers, toymakers in the aisles, sometimes it’s hard to find people who are there for the comics.

During Free Comic Book Day, everyone is there for the comics. Not only are they there to scoop up free titles, but it gets new people into the shops and gives them an opportunity to see how much fun the experience can be.

FCBD

Each year for the past three years I’ve been fortunate to be invited to spend the day at Arena Comics and Gaming, a fine comic book shop in Panama City, Florida. And I’ll be back this year starting at 10 a.m. CT.

The event gives me an opportunity to meet and greet with the local comic-reading community, fellow writers and artists and the very nice people who run the store. I’m floored at the amount of support I get each year from people willing to toss down a couple bucks to pick up my crazy comics. It reminds me that all this hard work and rejection is bringing people joy. It’s an awesome experience.

This year I’ll join my pals Andrew Pate (colorist of my upcoming comics Edison, The Rocking Dead and 90 other things we’re not talking about yet) and Jayson Kretzer (artist/writer of Wannabe Heroes and my comic The Rocking Dead) who are two of the nicest people on planet Earth.

If you’re not able to come and get high fives from us, go to your local comic shop, meet the creators, pick up some free comics and maybe buy yourself a little somethin’ somethin’ to help support the shop. Then maybe go back the following Wednesday and buy some new comics. Then go the week after that until you’ve developed a habit you can no longer control.

What will I be stocking at FCBD2K16? I’ll be armed to the teeth with copies of Unit 44, The Undoubtables, Chambers, Maintenance, The Temporal, Hipsters Vs. Rednecks, and issue #1 of Edison! Don’t miss out!

Want to see what free comics you can pick up at no cost? Visit www.freecomicbookday.com

Leave a Reply

