Project Announcement: Edison

With the Unit 44 collected edition, Hipsters Vs. Rednecks and The Temporal all being set free into the wild over the course of September, the kids have officially gone off to school and I am left to focus on new projects that will come together over the course of 2015/2016. I have several fun things to announce, but there’s one project in particular that has gained some ground and will likely be coming to your eyeballs sooner rather than later.

Edison_previewThat project is Edison: The Wizard of Menlo Park. (Working title… you dig?)

There has been some really interesting alternate history stories hitting the comic marketplace over the past few years… Action Lab’s Herald features H.P. Lovecraft and Nikola Tesla, Albert Einstein: Time Mason features… well… you know, and there are several web comics out there that take a page from history. With the historical star on the rise, I knew I needed to stake my claim quickly or get left behind.

More so, I thought it would be hilarious to look at inventor Thomas Edison as some sort of MacGyver/James Bond mix. Thus Edison was born:

One part James Bond, one part MacGyver, inventor Thomas Alva Edison uses his ingenuity and creativity to combat the scientific threats of the late 1880s.

While the story is grounded in historical fact as it pertains to the people, places and major inventions happening in that era of history (trust me, I’ve been doing my homework), I’m taking Edison for a spin as a smart and dangerous man who’s amazing intellect and intelligence often outshines his common sense.

After penning (typing) a script that was equal parts humor and action I set out to find an artistic collaborator to help bring this silly series to life like some sort of Frankenstein’s monster. That search led me to the electronic doorstep of Giovanni Capurro, whose art style lies somewhere between Darwyn Cooke and a Tim Sale with a little bit of roughness around the edges. While I spoke with several interested artists about the series, it was Giovanni’s back catalog that made me sit up and take note. I saw what he wanted to do with comics, saw what he was capable of, and with what I envision in my head for the series, I was confident he was the fella for the gig.

edison0102final_color_snip1We’re currently in the midst of developing the inaugural 30-page #1 issue and I’m thrilled with how it’s coming together. With several inked pages already in the bag, we’ve enlisted the services of talented colorist Andrew Pate, who will breathe an extra layer of life into the pages.

Hey, Wes… that’s great and all, but when is this book coming out?

Yeah, I don’t know.

Okay… but who’s going to publish it?

The short answer here is: who cares?

So far this comic has been an absolute blast to work on. Once the first issue is in the bag, we may show it around a bit to see if there’s any interest, but if publishers aren’t clamoring for a comic book about Thomas Edison, well, that’s a-okay, too.

If you have interest in humor, science, or the 1880s and its most prominent creative minds, then this comic is going to fill a void in your happy place that you probably didn’t know you had.

Are you excited? I’m really excited.

Keep it tuned here for more.

 

Leave a Reply

