Hipsters vs. Rednecks Update #3

Back at the beginning of 2015 I embarked on the silliest of ideas.

After Unit 44 showed me how much fun writing humor was, and how naturally I felt it came to me in comic book form, I decided to up the ante on myself. Sure, I had penned a silly and irreverent four-issue sci-fi/comedy miniseries, but I wondered how could I take that to the next level.

HvR_Cover_web_newI didn’t have to think very long.

In a stroke of genius (or was it madness)… I thought, what if the world ended leaving just two of the planets’ silliest human stereotypes…and what if they had to fight each other?

It was then that I knew I would be writing Hipsters vs. Rednecks.

The story came rather quickly… what would happen if an outsider stumbled into the middle of a war… who would they ally with and how would they survive in that setting? This tale would not only allow me to explore a ton of silly jokes, but be a fun experiment in one-and-done storytelling.

In October 2014 I penned the script and at the end of the year went hunting for the perfect artist to co-create the world I had started to envision. After casually dropping the idea for the comic out on social media I got several responses, but there was one artist who caught my eye…

Tyler Kelting, writer and artist of the (fantastic) indie book My Friend Death offered to take a look at the script to see if it was up his alley. Tyler’s art has this amazing dark, grimy and lived-in feeling that I thought would be ideal for the story. The dude uses color in ways I’ve never seen colors used in a comic book. Needless to say, I was holding my breath that he’d dig it. Thankfully, he did and after a bit of discussion he set to work in early 2015.

Here we are just months later, sitting on top of a complete 24-page one-shot comic book that I couldn’t be more proud of.

HvR_prev3While part of me feels like this comic book has no business existing (because it’s just that silly) the other part of me is completed inspired by the what we’ve made. As a young reader I always loved when an indie comic book would pop up in my local comic shop (The Collection Connection — hey-o!) and reel me in with it’s personality, wackiness and complete disregard for following comic book norms.

To me, Hipsters vs. Rednecks embodies that feeling. Tyler and I created the exact comic we wanted to make, making zero apologies and having a ton of fun in the process. Maybe we’ll be apologizing once it’s released… who knows.

We’ll be self-publishing the book in print and digital formats in September. Digital PDFs will first be available via Gumroad with more e-formats to follow in the near future. We’ll be dropping a pre-order link in the next few weeks!

Now, even though I’m completely into this book I can’t help but wonder if anyone will read it. With a title like Hipsters vs. Rednecks, I’m counting on curiosity alone to bring in some viewers. After all, how could there be any sort of story there? There’s only one way to find out!

While it’s all very silly, I’ve always believed that first and foremost, making comics should be fun. The fulfillment I get from collaborating with talented artists and colorists is a thrill that never gets old.

Mission accomplished.

Release date info to come soon!

Leave a Reply

