Housekeeping!

I imagine that as a housekeeper in a hotel, my day would be utterly ruined by walking inside a room to tidy up, only to find a decaying body inside.

It always bums me out when I surf onto my own blog and see that it’s been weeks since my last update, or in this case, nearly a month. I don’t want to be that decaying body that people check in to look for. I want to prove that I’m alive and well, so I’m taking that opportunity now.

At times I find myself doing so much writing and reading that the last thing I want to do is write or read about myself. However, comics is an arena in which presence equals productivity, so I thought I’d fill in the gaps on what’s been happening throughout the radio silence that has occurred over the past few months. Thankfully, it’s all amazing things.

For whatever reason, September, October and November were months filled with crashing waves of inspiration and motivation and I found myself churning out more writing then had come in the prior six months. Needless to say, it was awesome.

  • I wrote three issues of of a 5-part comic books miniseries I hope to put into production this year.
  • I wrote a complete 96-page comic series that I’ve found an amazing artist for, and look forward to self-publishing in the coming year.
  • I wrote 50 pages of another series and presented it to a dream artist who has agreed to come along for the ride.
  • I wrote a 24-page one-shot about zombies.
  • I wrote a 24-page one-shot about hipsters.
  • I wrote half of an action/comedy video game that is currently being built for release on the PlayStation platform within the next year (I will also write the other half of it).
  • I wrote a 3-part script for a choose-your-own-adventure style game that will be released for iPhone and Android smartphones within a month.
  • I’ve written more than 40 pages of a sequel to one of my published comics.
  • I’ve read some amazing comic books and non-fiction books.

I don’t know what’s in the water, but it tastes amazing. My eyes and fingers have been busy, so forgive me for not paying more attention to my blog, but I trust we’re all glad that I’m not rotting on the floor.

I feel like I could have come up with something better than the “rotting on the floor” analogy, but I’ve also come to remember that they can’t all be winners.

One thought on “Housekeeping!

Leave a Reply

