Adrift update #1

New project time!

About a month ago I saw that UK publisher Titan Comics was hosting an Undiscovered Talent Competition of sorts with a theme of “Lost in Space.” Entries had to be finished comics between 4-6 pages and winners would be selected by the Titan editorial staff. The winning shorts would then be collected into an anthology from the publisher to be released by ComiXology in the fall. There was lots of other fine and tiny print, but I didn’t necessarily jump at this opportunity.

Normally I’m not a fan of competition. I was never into competitive sports (except during a season of little league baseball that went horribly wrong) so the contest wasn’t something that immediately piqued my interested. Then, as happens to writers, I was doing something completely unrelated to thinking about the contest and a story idea hit me that lined up with the contest’s theme. Even better, I felt like this idea was something I could feasibly do in four pages. Resigning myself to the fact that I was indeed an “undiscovered talent” and therefore completely eligible to participate, I decided to write it. After all, what did I have to lose?

The following morning I alternated keyboard taps with coffee sips as the script came to life on my screen. Once the initial draft of ADRIFT was complete, I did what any other fledgling comic book writer would do–I took to Twitter to beg artists to work with me. Surprisingly, the response was pretty overwhelming and I sent the script off to several folks who I’d been interested in collaborating with.

It seems my good fortune was in order because the talented Alex Diotto (artist of Southern Dog from Action Lab Entertainment and the SCAMthology from ComixTribe) read my script said a bunch of really nice things and offered to draw it up so we could enter the contest.

It all came together before I’d finished my coffee. Sometimes the world is a pretty amazing place.

Alex is a very talented storyteller whose style is clean, accessible and so much fun. He was interested in doing something on the humorous side and I’m glad he picked this story to help him flex those muscles. I just had an opportunity to check out the pencils for the short and his art had me laughing out loud. There weren’t even any words on the page. THAT’S how we do it.

And while we will be sending this short over to Titan Comics for their consideration, we’re not living and dying by their validation. Either way, you, the reader, are going to get a fun 4-page story that is guaranteed to make you smile. Look at that…everyone wins.

Oh, while I have you, Alex’s new comic, Southern Dog, is currently in previews for pre-order. The comic deals with racial tensions in the south AND werewolves, so you know it’s good. Heck, I’ve read the first issue so I can promise you that it’s good. The series was written by the talented Jeremy Holt with covers by Riley Rossmo. Get on it. Help this comic succeed.

While Alex moves on to the inking phase of our short, check out his character designs below for Dee and Adam, our two protagonists who find themselves hopelessly lost in the void that is space. Of course, much hilarity ensues. How could it not?

35deeandadamADRIFT

Leave a Reply

