Stuff I Dig: Let’s Talk Comics Podcast

This website has always been about promoting my writing, mostly in the comics medium, but it’s also a platform for me to share my thoughts and interests with those who may stumble across the site as well as those who follow my work.

Recently, there’s been a lot of cool stuff that I’ve enjoyed, whether it’s comic books, podcasts, or something else entirely. In moments where I don’t necessarily have a comic-related update, I thought it might be fun to share these things in hopes that you might check them out and dig it as much as I did. In fact, if there’s something that YOU dig, you should send me an email and let me know.

Thus, the first installment of Stuff I Dig where today, I want to lend some kind words to the Let’s Talk Comics Podcast.

Whereas I used to listen to a ton of music, as I’ve grown older (read: can’t stand the “noise” of new music), podcasts have really taken over my commute to and from the day job. As it turns out, there are podcasts for just about anything that you can imagine, whether it be news, grammar, and even (gasp) comic books.

One of the podcasts I’ve really been enamored with as of late is James Viscardi’s Let’s Talk Comics Podcast. James used to work in the marketing department at Marvel Comics and because of that connection is able to bring some of the biggest creators to his weekly podcast where he gives them a forum to discuss their secret origins, as it were.

Viscardi has hosted writers, artists, editors and those who handle the behind the scenes production work and it all ties together to give creators like myself a peek behind the curtain into the industry’s ups and downs and at times, even helps you appreciate someone’s work.

Past guests have included writers Rick Remender, Sam Humphries, Brian Michael Bendis, Joshua Hale Fialkov, letterer Chris Eliopoulos, artists Michael Walsh, David Marquez and Chris Samnee, along with editors Aubrey Sitterson and Stephen Wacker. That’s just the tip of the iceberg.

The reason that this podcast is so enjoyable is because host Viscardi isn’t actively promoting his guest’s latest project. He sits down with them as a fan of comics and asks them the same questions one might over a beer or a cup of coffee. He traces their childhoods, their early interests, first exposure to comics and personally, it has given me a better understanding and stronger appreciation for what the guest has gone through to get where they are in the industry.

As a creator, the LTC is a weekly dose of inspiration and honestly, it keeps me plugging away and putting in the work. If there’s one thing that I’ve learned from all of the stories that Viscardi’s guests have shared, it’s that while success doesn’t come easy, it does come with hard work and discipline.

If you enjoy the comics medium and are not listening to this wonderful podcast, click here to subscribe via iTunes and add this to your weekly rotation.

Leave a Reply

