Free Comic Book Day 2014 in review

I live in what most people would call “the middle of nowhere.”

There’s a small town 10 minutes one way, and a big city an hour the other way. Mostly, what I have is beach. Don’t get me wrong, that’s awesome in itself, but it makes a weekly venture to a local comic shop close to impossible.

The first Saturday in May is Free Comic Book Day, and while I was planning to make that hour drive to stock up on some free and non-free comics, the icing on the cake came when Panama City-based writer/artist Jayson Kretzer, creator of the hilarious all ages comic Wannabe Heroes hit me up via email and invited me to table at one of his favorite shops, Arena Comics & Gaming in Panama City during the event.

Rather than spend just a few minutes in a shop collecting free books, I was able to spend four hours meeting and greeting with some of Panama City’s biggest comic fans while I got to tell them about my own projects. On hand I had copies of the CHAMBERS trade paperback and first issue of UNIT 44.

I want to extend a big thanks to everyone who asked about the books and a huge high-five to those who picked them up and added them to their to-read pile. The support for independent comics was amazing and I can only hope that everyone in attendance had as much fun as I did.

I’d also like to thank to Jayson for the invite, the proprietors of the store for allowing us to shuck our wares, the artists who provided sketches and the patrons who make FCBD possible each year.

Pictured below is Jayson (winning the award for best table setup) while I can be found in the background selling a copy of CHAMBERS to a vacationer from Georgia who just happened to come into the shop after Googling the nearest LCS so he could still participate in Free Comic Book Day. How cool is that?

FCBD2014_Arena1

 

Leave a Reply

