What Ever Happened to: Unit 44

There’s been a ton of fun stuff happening behind the scenes with my comedy/sci-fi comic book UNIT 44 that I’ve been working on with the talented Eduardo Jimenez and I wanted to take a moment to catch everyone up on the action.

You remember that comic, right? The one where Area 51 employees forget to pay the rent on the facility’s off-site storage unit, and the secret contents are sold at public auction.

In September of last year Ed and I took to Kickstarter to fund the first issue of the series, which we did successfully, thanks to the support of more than 100 awesome people who tossed us both words of encouragement and funds to help kick off the project. In January we completed that issue and within the last month fulfilled all rewards, shipping more than 100 copies of the book all over the world.

Previewing the first issue was awesome because it allowed is to get instant feedback from readers about the beginnings of the series, intended to run four issues.

In fact, check out what some of our backers had to say about issue #1:

“I read it a couple of weeks ago and I thought it was great. I really like Agent Hatch and the banter between Gibson and him. I’m looking forward to what’s coming up next.”

“Just finished reading issue #1 and I really enjoyed it! Can’t wait for the next issue to come out.”

“I read your comic last Friday at work and it had me cracking up quite a bit. That was the most fun comic I’ve read in recent memory so thank you for that, and if you ever do other projects know you’ve got a guaranteed backer. Thanks again for the laughs and best of luck to you.”

“I love it, Every page and every panel exceeded my expectations. You and Ed did a standout job. Now begins one of the toughest things that I have ever done, waiting for the rest of the series.”

“I’ve read Unit 44 Issue #1, and I enjoyed it very much! I am looking forward to purchasing the rest of the series. Thanks to you and Ed, for your hard work.”

“I just got done reading my digital and I’ve gotta say it was hilarious! I’m looking forward to the next issue. You guys did some great work. Congratulations!”

“I went through unit 44 without a break, I like it a lot. I can’t wait to see the rest of this series.”

“Just read the first issue and it was fantastic. Loved the humor and the artist did a great job. Seriously great job on this. I can’t wait to read the rest.”

“You’ve created content for all audiences but not “baby-fied” (I didn’t make that word up, just the spelling of it)…I appreciate that I can enjoy the area 51/mother-in-law kind of humor…and I can pass this on to anyone in my family–including my 13 year old son–for them to read. In fact, I intend to force my 13 year old son to read it because I think he’ll dig the offbeat humor!”

“I loved it! If you’re deciding to kickstart the the next issue, just send me an email and I’ll back the next one!”

“I just read the digital version of your Unit 44 comic! I really liked it! I liked the humor in the comic! I think the writing was clever and the artwork was awesome!”

If I could give all of those people a hug and a high-five, trust me, I would.

Kickstarter allowed us to complete a “proof of concept” on the comic and though we haven’t found a publishing partner for the book, Ed and I decided not to let that stand in our way.

Whereas the initial version of the comic was very Kickstarter-centric, I recently completed work on a retail version of the issue that we will use to officially launch our first issue for public consumption. It will be emblazoned with a new cover and some new back matter, so even if someone has read it, it might be worth a second look.

We’ve submitted the inaugural issue to the ComiXology Submit program, a digital launching pad for self-published comics and are waiting to hear back when it may see the light of day. Not to sit around and wait, we’ve begun production on the second issue and hope to keep down the wait time between installments.

So, for the moment, we’re playing the waiting game, but we’re eager to share our first issue with you. If those stellar reviews above are any indication of how the book will e received by the general public, I think Ed and I are in for some fun.

Most of our updates on the project went directly to our Kickstarter backers, but with the campaign behind us, I’ll be sure to bring them back home to this site and we’ll continue sharing the process!

If this is your first time hearing about Unit 44, do yourself a favor and read the first five pages for absolutely free by clicking here or on the image below.

Enjoy!

Cover1

Leave a Reply

