The Undoubtables Update #12

After more than two years of work, I’m so absolutely thrilled to make the announcement that my action/heist comic book, THE UNDOUTABLES, is complete!

For this project, I had the joy of co-creating a four-issue miniseries with the talented Emre Ozdamarlar, an artist hailing from Sweden. We originally linked up through a post I made on Digital Webbing where, at the time, I was seeking several artists for shorts I had written in the genres of crime, superhero, heist and sci-fi.

I was putting together a small anthology to promote my work and Emre, along with several other talented artists, came on board to toss some comics into the world. We completed a five-page pitch that featured a colorful cast of thieves robbing a bank and paired with a pitch/synopsis for a four-issue miniseries, it went off to various publishers.

Two days later, one of those publishers emailed me back expressing an interest in the property and we jumped on the phone to discuss what he liked about the comic, his plans for promoting it, and what we as creators could expect from him if we decided to sign on the dotted line. As someone who never expected anything to develop from the pitch, it was a pretty surreal moment for me, and I greatly appreciated that the head of a company would take 30 minutes out of his day to chat with me about my silly comic book.

After considering all of the opportunities, Emre and I decided to sign with that same publisher. It was a big moment for me personally, and The Undoubtables will always hold a special place in my heart for being the first comic to be welcomed on a bigger level.

Since we had basically gotten in an order for an 88-page miniseries and only five pages currently existed, I did what anyone would do… I put my butt in the chair and started writing. I had spent plenty of time day dreaming about the story and had written outlines, but to sit down and hammer out all of the scripts was its own rewarding experience. I can recall sitting at my kitchen table in the middle of the night clacking away at the keyboard. I do remember writing the first 22-page draft of our third issue in under 24 hours, an accomplishment I’m still proud of because it might be my favorite installment of the series.

As scripts were completed, Emre sat down at the drawing board, sending me storyboards, pencils and inks as he progressed. With every delivery of new pages the project became more and more real. Once all inks were complete, the pages went off to colorist Kefas Armando and I lettered furiously as they came back in, sending them off to publisher each time we had finished an issue.

As of this morning, the final pages have been turned in, and it feels pretty amazing. The individual issues will hit ComiXology monthly with a printed trade paperback to follow once the series has completed. Stay tuned on how you can get your copies and I look forward to being able to share an official announcement from the publisher soon.

A huge thanks goes out to Emre for all of the time, energy and hard work he put into creating the art for the book. He’s a very talented collaborator and I’m privileged to have gotten to work with him over the past two years. When you get to see the art that I’ve been looking at, you’re going to be thrilled.

We’re just getting started!

TULogo

One thought on “The Undoubtables Update #12

  1. I’m very glad for you and your team ! That story is a striking proof that a hard work and consistency will reward you with thrilling moments . Congratulations ! !

Leave a Reply

