What Ever Happened to: The Undoubtables

In this week’s edition of WHAT EVER HAPPENED TO… I thought I’d spotlight my upcoming 4-issue heist miniseries THE UNDOUBTABLES that I co-created with artist Emre Ozdamarlar and with colors by Kefas Armando.

Spencer “Spade” Shelton and his rag-tag band of thieves, The Undoubtables, will have to stay one step ahead of the police and a crew of deadly mobsters if they hope to shake off the rust and pull off their latest heist.

Once again, we have to jump into the way, way back machine and venture to a strange and dangerous land where music was ruled by Lady Gaga and the final Harry Potter flick was making billions in ticket sales… a world known as 2011.

It was around this time that I had written my first set of five-page pitches that included a superhero story, a sci-fi space tale, a gritty crime yarn (see: Chambers) and a fun Ocean’s 11-esque heist story. In 2012 I found gracious artistic collaborators to bring these stories to life and by the end of the year, they were making the rounds to publishers, with most being rejected as quickly as I could send the digital files.

Then it all changed…I got a nibble on the heist story known as The Undoubtables, and soon I found myself on the phone with a publisher (seriously, no one ever uses the phone anymore…I thought that was pretty awesome) and they walked me through what they’d like to do with the comic, how they’d promote it and why they liked it. Digital was just becoming a thing, and they were excited for the comic to help pave a digital path for them. Then they offered Emre and and I a contract.

Well, as you can imagine… I was ecstatic. I hit up Emre and after some discussion we decided to give it a go and bring the full 4-issue series to life. It would be a ‘breakout’ project for the both of us and would help us put (and hopefully leave) our mark on the comics world, establishing us as creators. Emre, who was attending comics school in Sweden at the time, was encouraged by his teachers to draw the book as part of his training, which I still think is just about the coolest thing ever, and since the contracts were signed we’ve been hard at work on the finished product.

Fast forward a bit — In August 2013 we completed work on the debut issue and then in December 2013, wrapped the second installment. Here in 2014, I’m proud to say that the entire 88-page series has been colored. Currently, we’re finessing some of the colors on issues 3 & 4 and once those are settled, I will letter the last 44 pages and we anticipate to see the first issue released digitally within the next couple of months. In fact, the first issue is poised to release as soon as we’ve turned in the third!

Much like my 2013 series, Chambers, once all four issues have debuted digitally, they will be collected in a print trade paperback edition that you can hold and cherish forever.

The publisher has been patient with us and is still very encouraging with the title. They’re excited and I have to admit, I’m really excited too.

It’s gonna be a good year.

TULogo

Leave a Reply

