What Ever Happened to: The Temporal

I decided to start a new segment on the blog where I can talk about a little bit about projects of mine that, for one reason or another, aren’t getting as much “screen time” as some of the others.

Whether these projects are on hiatus, soon to be released or simply as dead as parachute pants, I thought I’d given an update which will help get us all excited for things coming up over the course of 2014.

Sounds like a blast, right?
Of course it does!

So, let’s get started with — what ever happened to…

Temporal

THE TEMPORAL is a 32-page sci-fi one-shot that I wrote back in 2011 (way, way back) and was the project that originally brought me together with one of my favorite collaborators, Kristian Rossi, who you may recognize as the artist from a little comic book called Chambers. Kristian and I initially connected through DigitalWebbing.com and it was off to the races and the start of a solid friendship.

When you’re looking to break into comics, the first thing you (should) do is go make comics. I hired Kristian to draw this one-and-done story about time travel, science and the ramifications of our decisions and he completed pencils and inks on the book in 2012. Ever since, the book has sat, just waiting for its time to shine.

As other projects demanded time and attention (and money), I strayed away from getting colors added to this book in order to get some publisher-backed projects out the door. In 2013 I sat down and lettered The Temporal, so what we have now is a complete, 32-page black and white comic book.

In November, I launched my free sci-fi webcomic, Innovation, that centers around extreme scientific research and the pros and cons that come along with advancing technology. It’s since become very clear to me that Innovation was continuing many of the themes that I had established in The Temporal, so I decided to fold the book into the same universe and the one-shot will be a lead-off to the second story arc that I have planned.

Where, how and when can you get it? That’s yet to be determined, but it’s awesome having this completed project “in the pocket,” as it’s something that I can unleash if/when my publishing schedule slows down. One thing is for sure, though — it will see light in 2014. It’s long overdue, and I can’t wait to see what you think of it.

TempCoverTest

Leave a Reply

