Compromised Update #4

Yesterday was a day that I never thought would come to pass.

After six different artists, tons of frustration and equal amounts of determination and patience, my 3-page short comic COMPROMISED reached completion.

I have to extend a huge “thank you” and mass amounts of gratitude to artist Tomasz Witas who stepped in on a project that I was sure would die a grisly death and drew the heck out of it and pretty much saved my skin and allowed me to meet the deadline.

As a comic writer, you feel blessed when you team up with an artist who is absolutely amazing and I’ve had some pretty good luck in this arena to date. When Tomasz first answered my call for artistic salvation on a message board asking for details of my project, I took one look at his art and figured that he’d never spend his talents on a schmuck like me. His portfolio was full of people. The art was dark and moody and everything that I wanted out of my story which featured two people having a very dangerous (and moody) conversation.

Fearing rejection, I tossed the script his way and went back to looking at the art of other folks who had submitted. After all, the deadline for this comic was looming and I had found myself starting from scratch every few weeks as artists continuously disappeared. The rest of the art received was rather sub-par (with the exception of Robyn Seale, who answered the call on Twitter and we later teamed up on a short called In The Drink — more on that later) and if Tomasz said no to the project, I was ready to kill the story of my own accord.

It wasn’t long after that Tomasz sent a quick response letting me know he’d get started right away. I looked around for someone to high five, but my wife was out at the time, and my cats rejected the enthusiastic motion. I was left hanging on the high five, but inside, I was thrilled.

That was a few months ago, and now here we are. Finished art has appeared in my inbox and I couldn’t be more excited with the results. This story is dark, it’s moody and it’s everything I hoped it would be.

This comic is slated to be released in November in GrayHaven Comics’ I, Spy Anthology. More details as they come in!

Here’s the final peek at some of Tomasz’s work. Chew on that while we count down to release.

Comp_Snip3

Leave a Reply

